van der Schaar Lab

Engagement sessions

We’ve decided to create a number of engagement events to share ideas and discuss topics that will define the future of machine learning in healthcare.

As a lab, our purpose is to create new and powerful machine learning techniques and methods that can revolutionize healthcare. This doesn’t happen in a vacuum. At inception, we are inspired by ideas and discussions; in implementation, we need connections, trust, and partnership to make a real difference.

While you can learn about our work at major conferences in machine learning or in our papers, we think it’s a better idea to create a community and keep these conversations going. We’re also aware that many people—both in healthcare and machine learning—have questions about what we do, and how they can contribute.

At present, we’re planning to hold two types of session on a regular basis: Inspiration Exchange will provide a forum to brainstorm methods and techniques with machine learning students, while Revolutionizing Healthcare will target the the healthcare community and focus on challenges and opportunities in clinical application of machine learning.

For more information about both sessions—and to sign up to join in—please have a look at the sections below, and keep checking for new updates.

Revolutionizing Healthcare

Themed discussion sessions for healthcare professionals (primarily clinicians and healthcare workers).

We would like to:
– introduce machine learning concepts as they relate to healthcare
– spark new projects and collaborations
– demonstrate the real-world impact of machine learning in clinical settings
– discuss institutional barriers preventing wider adoption
– develop a shared vision for the future of machine learning in healthcare.

Format:
– short presentation by Mihaela van der Schaar,
– topic-specific Q&A

Starting on September 29!

Our first session will be on September 29 at 16:00 BST, and will run for roughly 1 hour.

If you’d like to join us then (or for future sessions), please sign up using the form below, and check this page regularly.

Time zones

Cambridge, United Kingdom 2020-09-29 at 16:00 BST
New York, USA 2020-09-29 at 11:00 EDT
San Francisco, USA 2020-09-29 at 08:00 PDT
Paris, France 2020-09-29 at 17:00 CEST
Beijing, China 2020-09-29 at 23:00 CST

To add your city/time zone, click here.

Sign-up form

Inspiration Exchange

Themed discussion sessions for machine learning students (particularly masters, Ph.D., and post-docs).

We would like to:
– discuss machine learning models and techniques
– share ideas about how machine learning can revolutionize healthcare
– spark new projects and collaborations
– raise awareness about this unique and exciting area of machine learning.

Format:
– short presentation by Mihaela van der Schaar,
– topic-specific Q&A
– general Q&A

Second session on October 5!

Our next session will be on Monday, October 5 at 16:00 BST.

Our theme for the first session was automated machine learning (AutoML), and this will remain the theme for the next few sessions.

If you’d like to join us for future sessions, please sign up using the form below. We’ll be in touch soon with URLs and other info.

Time zones

Cambridge, United Kingdom – 2020-10-05 at 16:00 BST
Paris, France 2020-10-05 at 17:00 CEST
New York, USA – 2020-10-05 at 11:00 EDT
San Francisco, USA – 2020-10-05 at 08:00 PDT
Beijing, China – 2020-10-05 at 23:00 CST
Shanghai, China – 2020-10-05 at 23:00 CST

To add your city/time zone, click here.

Sign-up form

The first Inspiration Exchange session was held via Zoom on Wednesday, September 2, at 16:00 BST, and ran for roughly 1 hour, with 11 questions asked.

You can view the full session below:

To learn more about our team of researchers, click here. You can find our publications here.