van der Schaar Lab

Inspiration Exchange

Inspiration Exchange is a series of engagement sessions aiming to share ideas and discuss topics that will define the future of machine learning in healthcare. These events will target machine learning students, and will emphasize sharing of new ideas and development of new methods, approaches, and techniques.

As a lab, our purpose is to create new and powerful machine learning techniques and methods that can revolutionize healthcare. This doesn’t happen in a vacuum. At inception, we are inspired by ideas and discussions; in implementation, we need connections, trust, and partnership to make a real difference.

While you can learn about our work at major conferences in machine learning or in our papers, we think it’s a better idea to create a community and keep these conversations going. We’re also aware that many people—both in healthcare and machine learning—have questions about what we do, and how they can contribute.

For more information about Inspiration Exchange—and to sign up to join in—please have a look at the sections below, and keep checking for new updates.

Inspiration Exchange

Themed discussion sessions specifically for machine learning students (particularly masters, Ph.D., and post-docs).

We would like to:
– discuss machine learning models and techniques
– share ideas about how machine learning can revolutionize healthcare
– spark new projects and collaborations
– raise awareness about this unique and exciting area of machine learning.

Standard session format:
– presentations by van der Schaar Lab researchers
– Q&A
– presentations by participants

Inspiration Exchange session 1 (September 2, 2020)

Our first session was on September 2 at 16:00 BST, and ran for roughly 1 hour, with 11 questions asked.

Ahead of this session, Mihaela published a piece of content on machine learning and the future of healthcare, entitled AutoML: powering the new human-machine learning ecosystem.

Inspiration Exchange session 2 (October 5, 2020)

Our second session was on September 2 at 16:00 BST, and ran for roughly 1 hour and 10 minutes.

This session featured presentations from 4 of the van der Schaar Lab’s researchers regarding the Lab’s key AutoML projects. In addition, three session participants presented their own proposals for building on these projects by improving the AutoML methods or applying them in new contexts or applications.

Third session on November 9!

Our next session will be on Monday, November 9 at 16:00 GMT.

Our theme for the first two sessions was automated machine learning (AutoML), and this will remain the theme for the third session.

If you’d like to join us for future sessions, please sign up using the form below. We’ll be in touch soon with URLs and other info.

Time zones

Cambridge, United Kingdom 2020-11-09 at 16:00 GMT
Paris, France 2020-11-09 at 17:00 CET
New York, USA 2020-11-09 at 11:00 EST
San Francisco, USA 2020-11-09 at 08:00 PST
Beijing, China 2020-11-10 at 00:00 CST
Shanghai, China 2020-11-10 at 00:00 CST

To add your city/time zone, click here.

Sign-up form

To learn more about our team of researchers, click here. You can find our publications here.