van der Schaar Lab

Revolutionizing Healthcare

Revolutionizing Healthcare is a series of engagement sessions aiming to share ideas and discuss topics that will define the future of machine learning in healthcare. These events will target the healthcare community and focus on challenges and opportunities in clinical application of machine learning.

As a lab, our purpose is to create new and powerful machine learning techniques and methods that can revolutionize healthcare. This doesn’t happen in a vacuum. At inception, we are inspired by ideas and discussions; in implementation, we need connections, trust, and partnership to make a real difference.

While you can learn about our work at major conferences in machine learning or in our papers, we think it’s a better idea to create a community and keep these conversations going. We’re also aware that many people—both in healthcare and machine learning—have questions about what we do, and how they can contribute.

For more information about Revolutionizing Healthcare—and to sign up to join in—please have a look at the sections below, and keep checking for new updates.

Revolutionizing Healthcare

Themed discussion sessions specifically for healthcare professionals (primarily clinicians and healthcare workers).

We would like to:
– introduce machine learning concepts as they relate to healthcare
– spark new projects and collaborations
– demonstrate the real-world impact of machine learning in clinical settings
– discuss institutional barriers preventing wider adoption
– develop a shared vision for the future of machine learning in healthcare.

Standard session format:
– topic-specifc panel discussion featuring clinicians
– discussion between van der Schaar Lab researchers
– open Q&A

Revolutionizing Healthcare session 1 (September 29)

Our first session was on September 29 at 16:00 BST, and ran for roughly 1 hour.

Ahead of this session, Mihaela published a piece of content on machine learning and the future of healthcare, entitled Revolutionizing healthcare: an invitation to clinical professionals everywhere.

Revolutionizing Healthcare session 2 (November 11)

Our second session was on November 11 at 16:00 BST, and ran for just over 1 hour.

Ahead of this session, Mihaela published a piece of content entitled Machine learning for healthcare: Towards a unifying framework.

Revolutionizing Healthcare session 3 (December 16)

Our third session was on December 16 at 16:00 BST, and ran for just over 1 hour.

The focus of the session was on addressing real-world problems in the acute care setting by matching them to formalisms.

During the session, we introduced the lab’s Hub for Healthcare, which contains a classification of some medical problems and associated examples, and then provides formalisms and methods by which they can be solved.

Next session on January 28!

Our fourth session will be on January 28 at 16:00 GMT, and will run for roughly 1 hour. In this session we will be examining real-world problems facing clinicians in the cancer domain, and matching these problems with solutions in ML/AI/operations research through the use of formalisms.

If you’d like to join us then (or for future sessions), please sign up using the form below, and check this page regularly.

Time zones

Cambridge, United Kingdom Thu, 28 Jan 2021 at 16:00 GMT
Paris, France Thu, 28 Jan 2021 at 17:00 CET
New York, USA Thu, 28 Jan 2021 at 11:00 EST
San Francisco, USA Thu, 28 Jan 2021 at 08:00 PST
Beijing, China Fri, 29 Jan 2021 at 00:00 CST
Shanghai, China Fri, 29 Jan 2021 at 00:00 CST

To add your city/time zone, click here.

Sign-up form
(for practicing healthcare professionals)

To learn more about our team of researchers, click here. You can find our publications here.