van der Schaar Lab

C2D3 Virtual Symposium 2020 keynote

Mihaela van der Schaar will be giving a keynote at the C2D3 Virtual Symposium, hosted by the Cambridge Centre for Data-Driven Discovery.

Keynote title:
AutoML: powering the new human-machine learning ecosystem

Abstract:
In this keynote session, I will explain the unique characteristics of healthcare that make it a challenging but extremely promising domain in which to apply AutoML.

I will give an overview of several novel approaches we have developed to tackle problems as complex and diverse as AutoML for survival analysis, causal inference, and dynamic forecasting from time-series data.

I will also highlight medical AutoML frameworks used in real-world contexts, including predictive tools deployed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Conference description:
Research Rendezvous: An online showcase of exciting research from across the University alongside guest talks from industry and independent organisations. The C2D3 Virtual Symposium 2020 Research Rendezvous seeks to spark new research questions, create new collaborations and connect distant parts of the data science community at the University and beyond.

Our audience will be diverse with delegates from across academia, industry, independent organisations, local councils. We are excited to hear talks from our Academic Keynote Speaker Professor Mihaela van der Schaar (University of Cambridge) and our Guest Keynote Speaker Dr Orlando Machado (Aviva).

All of the talks will be presented at an accessible level and interesting for all data science abilities; each talk will be accompanied with live meet the speaker Q&A sessions. For Early Career Researchers there will be an e-poster competition and a chance to showcase your research. Everyone is welcome to join us.

Visit the event page here.

Mihaela’s presentation will take place on October 21 at 10:30 BST.

Full list of time zones:
Cambridge, United Kingdom 2020-10-21 at 10:30 BST
Paris, France 2020-10-21 at 11:30 CEST
Beijing, China 2020-10-21 at 17:30 CST
New York, USA 2020-10-21 at 05:30 EDT
San Francisco, USA 2020-10-21 at 02:30 PDT

Click here for more time zones.

The event is finished.

Tags:

Date

Oct 21 2020
Expired!

Time

Note: time is shown in BST
10:30 am - 10:00 am
Category