van der Schaar Lab

FODS2020 keynote

On October 19, 2020, Mihaela van der Schaar will be giving a keynote at the Foundations of Data Science Conference (FODS2020), hosted by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).

Keynote title:
AutoML and interpretability: powering the machine learning revolution in healthcare

Abstract:
AutoML and interpretability are both fundamental to the successful uptake of machine learning by non-expert end users. The former will lower barriers to entry and unlock potent new capabilities that are out of reach when working with ad-hoc models, while the latter will ensure that outputs are transparent, trustworthy, and meaningful. In healthcare, AutoML and interpretability are already beginning to empower the clinical community by enabling the crafting of actionable analytics that can inform and improve decision-making by clinicians, administrators, researchers, policymakers, and beyond.

This keynote presents state-of-the-art AutoML and interpretability methods for healthcare developed in our lab and how they have been applied in various clinical settings (including cancer, cardiovascular disease, cystic fibrosis, and recently Covid-19), and then explains how these approaches form part of a broader vision for the future of machine learning in healthcare.

Conference description:
This interdisciplinary event will bring together researchers and practitioners to address foundational data science challenges in prediction, inference, fairness, ethics and the future of data science.

Visit the event page here.

Full list of time zones:
New York, USA 2020-10-19 at 12:30 EDT
London, United Kingdom 2020-10-19 at 17:30 BST
Paris, France 2020-10-19 at 18:30 CEST
Beijing, China 2020-10-20 at 00:30 CST
San Francisco, USA 2020-10-19 at 09:30 PDT

Click here for more time zones.

  • 00

    days

  • 00

    hours

  • 00

    minutes

  • 00

    seconds

Date

Oct 19 2020 - Oct 29 2020
Ongoing...

Time

Note: time is shown in BST
5:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Category