van der Schaar Lab

Keynote at Helmholtz AI virtual conference 2021

Mihaela van der Schaar will deliver a keynote at the 2021 Helmholtz AI virtual conference.

Keynote title:
Why medicine is creating exciting new frontiers for machine learning

Abstract:
Medicine stands apart from other areas where machine learning can be applied. While we have seen advances in other fields with lots of data, it is not the volume of data that makes medicine so hard, it is the challenges arising from extracting actionable information from the complexity of the data. It is these challenges that make medicine the most exciting area for anyone who is really interested in the frontiers of machine learning – giving us real-world problems where the solutions are ones that are societally important and which potentially impact on us all. Think Covid 19!

In this talk I will show how machine learning is transforming medicine and how medicine is driving new advances in machine learning, including new methodologies in automated machine learning, interpretable and explainable machine learning, dynamic forecasting, and causal inference.

Conference description:
In a data-based future, it will be key to democratise access to AI to maximise research impact. We want to show you how.

Join us to meet method and domain specialists with a shared interest in AI, learn more about the Helmholtz AI initiatives, discuss use cases in applied AI/ML and expand your network.

Visit the event page here.

Mihaela’s presentation will take place on April 15 at 17:00 CEST.

Full list of time zones:

Munich, Germany Thu, 15 Apr 2021 at 17:00 CEST
Paris, France Thu, 15 Apr 2021 at 17:00 CEST
London, United Kingdom Thu, 15 Apr 2021 at 16:00 BST
Beijing, China Thu, 15 Apr 2021 at 23:00 CST
New York, USA Thu, 15 Apr 2021 at 11:00 EDT
San Francisco, USA Thu, 15 Apr 2021 at 08:00 PDT

Click here for more time zones.

The event is finished.

Date

Apr 15 2021
Expired!

Time

Note: time is shown in BST
2:00 pm - 2:45 pm
Category