van der Schaar Lab

VU Campus Center on AI & Health opening event

Mihaela van der Schaar will give an internal keynote at an event to mark the opening of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam’s Campus Center on AI & Health.

Presentation title:
AutoML and interpretability: powering the machine learning revolution in healthcare

Abstract:
AutoML and interpretability are both fundamental to the successful uptake of machine learning by non-expert end users. The former will lower barriers to entry and unlock potent new capabilities that are out of reach when working with ad-hoc models, while the latter will ensure that outputs are transparent, trustworthy, and meaningful. In healthcare, AutoML and interpretability are already beginning to empower the clinical community by enabling the crafting of actionable analytics that can inform and improve decision-making by clinicians, administrators, researchers, policymakers, and beyond.

This keynote presents state-of-the-art AutoML and interpretability methods for healthcare developed in our lab and how they have been applied in various clinical settings (including cancer, cardiovascular disease, cystic fibrosis, and recently Covid-19), and then explains how these approaches form part of a broader vision for the future of machine learning in healthcare

Visit the event page here.

Mihaela’s presentation will take place on October 23 shortly after 16:00 CEST.

Full list of time zones:
Amsterdam, Netherlands 2020-10-23 at 16:00 CEST
London, United Kingdom 2020-10-23 at 15:00 BST
Paris, France 2020-10-23 at 16:00 CEST
New York, USA 2020-10-23 at 10:00 EDT
San Francisco, USA 2020-10-23 at 07:00 PDT
Beijing, China 2020-10-23 at 22:00 CST

Click here for more time zones.

  • 00

    days

  • 00

    hours

  • 00

    minutes

  • 00

    seconds

Date

Oct 23 2020

Time

3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Category